Music That Brings Wonder

Chamber Series

Sunday, January 3, 2021 · 2:00 pm
Ways to Watch
log in

This content is available for Groundbreaker donors and above. Make a donation of $300 or more today and receive the Digital All Access pass to view all National Philharmonic online concerts during the 2020-21 season through June 30, 2021 on your schedule and on the platform you choose.

Donate Now to get your Login!

Sponsored by Kathleen Knepper
This concert is also sponsored in memory of Dr. Ruth Sragow Newhouse 

From time to time, everyone can benefit from an emotional and mental trip to a world of fantasy and magic. Inspired by the classic “Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll, this concert creates a sense of wonder and joy in the audience. Let go of the here and now and get carried away in a ‘frabjous’ experience guaranteed to reset the senses. 

Laura Colgate, violin
Regino Madrid, violin
Linda Leanza, violin
Sonya Hayes, violin
Julius Wirth, viola
Jerome Gordon, viola
Lori Barnet, cello
Danielle Cho, cello

Felix Mendelssohn, Octet, Op. 20 I. Allegro moderato ma con fuoco, II. Andante
Franz Joseph Haydn, String Quartet in F Major, Op. 77, No. 2: II. Minuet  
Caroline Shaw, Entr’acte  
Jessie Montgomery, Break Away: III. Smoke 
Sergei Prokofiev, String Quartet No. 1 in B minor, Op. 50: I. Allegro

A special thanks to our 2020-21 Season Sponsors – Jean and Paul Dudek; Ed Grossman and Rochelle Stanfield; Ted Mirecki, NatPhil Board Member; Martha Newman; Doug and Emily Jacobson; and Potter Violins.

Backstage with NatPhil

Rebecca Smithorn with Laura Colgate

Sweet Crimes Bakery

Concert Pairing Box

Sweet Crimes is thrilled to be partnering with the National Philharmonic on their Music that Brings Wonder concert on January 3, 2021! This Pairing Box has been carefully curated to match one delicious treat with each of five pieces of music for a program inspired by the classic “Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll.


Mendelssohn: Lemon bites
Haydn: Pear ginger scone with jam
Shaw: Blondie/brownie
Montgomery: Coconut macaroon dipped in chocolate
Prokofiev: Chocolate mini cupcake with raspberry

*Boxes come in single servings and double servings. Orders must be placed by noon on Wednesday, December 30th.

Ways to Watch

Log In

If you have a login and password, please enter them below.

Need your password reset?

view more events this season

Support National Philharmonic

National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Give Now