Performance Starts In

Music That Inspires

Chamber Series

Sunday, April 25, 2021 · 2:00 pm   Remind me!

What is art, and how does it come into being? How is all art connected, and what does it have to do with being intrinsically human? In this concert, the compositions speak to the interconnectedness of visual and aural art, and how the two often combine to create something more than the sum of their parts. Composer Barbara York finds inspiration from the paintings of Grant Wood. Saint-Saëns’s Danse Macabre takes its origin from illustrated sermon texts. It is hoped that this performance will lead audience members to new acts of artistry, whatever form that may take, because there is art in everything.

Laura Colgate, violin
Elizabeth Hill, piano
Willie Clark, tuba
Cheryl Hill, clarinet

Robert Schumann, Fantasiestücke for clarinet and piano 

  1. Zart und mit Ausdruck
  2. Lebhaft, leicht 
  3. Rasch und mit Feuer  

Camille Saint-Saens, Danse Macabre, Op. 40
Barbara York, Four Paintings by Grant Wood

  1. Stone City, Iowa 
  2. Young Corn
  3. American Gothic 
  4. Parson Weem's Fable

Florence Price, Adoration arranged by Elaine Fine for violin and piano

A special thanks to our 2020-21 Season Sponsors – Jean and Paul Dudek; Ed Grossman and Rochelle Stanfield; Ted Mirecki, NatPhil Board Member; Martha Newman; Doug and Emily Jacobson; and Potter Violins.


Support National Philharmonic

The National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Give Now