Sarah Chang: West Side Story & Romeo + Juliet

Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Friday, December 9, 2022 · 8:00 pm

Tickets & Subscriptions

Get Tickets Become a Subscriber

Read NatPhil's Safety Protocols

Tickets starting at $19
All Kids. All Free. All the Time.

From ballet to Broadway, Shakespeare’s most romantic and tragic love story has been interpreted by some of the greatest composers in history. Experience the exquisite Fantasy Overture from Romeo and Juliet by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, a passion piece for National Philharmonic Music Director and Conductor Piotr Gajewski, followed by Leonard Bernstein’s West Side Story Suite, arranged by David Newman. Violinist Sarah Chang, a favorite of NatPhil audiences, lends her captivating tone and energizing spirit as the featured soloist for the Bernstein classic. Finally, Gajewski will conduct a performance from Sergei Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet ballet. Bring your loved one and make of your hands one hand while you listen to three distinct yet equally emotional musical interpretations of the bard’s most beloved tragedy. 

Why We Love This Concert

  • Approaching the classic tale of two star crossed lovers that we all know in a way many us us haven’t experienced it before
  • Hear the juxtaposition of the old and the new - interpretations of this story from 3 different eras
  • We love listening to internationally acclaimed violinist Sarah Chang play!


Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Romeo and Juliet Overture – Fantasy

Leonard Bernstein, West Side Story Suite (arr. Newman)


Sergei Prokofiev, Romeo and Juliet Suite

Guest Artists

Sarah Chang


Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change.

view more events this season

Support National Philharmonic

National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Give Now