Vivaldi: Four Seasons

Piotr Gajewski, conductor
Laura Colgate, violin

Sunday, December 20, 2020 · 2:00 pm
Ways to Watch
log in

Le quattro stagioni (“The Four Seasons”), Op. 8, Nos. 1-4
La primavera (“Spring”), RV 269 Allegro—Largo—Allegro: Danza pastorale
L'estate (“Summer”), RV 315 Allegro non molto—Adagio—Presto
L'autunno (“Autumn”), RV 293 Allegro—Adagio molto—Allegro
L'inverno (“Winter”), RV 297 Allegro non molto—Largo—Allegro 

Antonio Vivaldi’s beloved classic, The Four Seasons, is presented in its entirety. The inspiration for The Four Seasons came from a set of four anonymous sonnets, one for each season, from which Vivaldi took descriptive phrases to direct the development of musical ideas. This makes the concertos an early form of program music, creating stories without words.  

Due to the new Montgomery County Executive Order, we will no longer be able to host our annual Handel’s Messiah in December this year.  In lieu of these new restrictions on gatherings, we will showcase our new Concertmaster Laura Colgate playing violin in Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.

Ways to Watch

Log In

If you have a login and password, please enter them below.

Need your password reset?


Support National Philharmonic

National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Donate $125 or more by February 14 and receive a limited edition National Philharmonic face mask.

Give Now