Vive La France

Piotr Gajewski, conductor

Saturday, October 22, 2022 · 8:00 pm

Tickets & Subscriptions

Subscriptions and tickets coming soon!

Read NatPhil's Safety Protocols

NatPhil's 2022-2023 Season gets off to a spectacular start with some of the best symphonic music by diverse and celebrated French composers. Experience Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges’, Symphony No. 1 in G Major, a piece that many say rivals the best of Mozart’s work, and Symphony No. 3, a neglected masterpiece by musical genius Louise Farrenc. Violinist Gil Shaham joins NatPhil for Camille Saint-Saëns’ Violin Concerto No. 3, bringing its melodic invention and impressionistic subtlety to life. Together, these three compositions make for a joyful and magical aural experience. Venez voir la magie! 


Joseph Boulogne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, Symphony No. 1 in G Major
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro assai

Camille Saint-Saëns, Violin Concerto No. 3, Op.61, B Minor 
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Andantino quasi allegretto
III. Molto moderato e maestoso; Allegro non troppo


Louise Farrenc, Symphony No. 3, Op.36, G minor 
I. Adagio–Allegro
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Scherzo: Vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro

Guest Artists

Gil Shaham

Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change.

view more events this season

Support National Philharmonic

National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Give Now