Beethoven’s 7th

Piotr Gajewski, conductor


Thursday, April 13, 7:30pm @ Capital One Hall
Tickets for Capital One

Saturday, April 15, 8:00pm @ Strathmore
Tickets for Strathmore

Read NatPhil’s Safety Protocols

Past and present collide in this performance of contemporary works and classical masterpieces. Valerie Coleman’s Umoja, Anthem for Unity for Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Piotr Gajewski brings the lushness of a full ensemble to Coleman’s original work composed for chamber ensemble. Violinist Melissa White, a NatPhil favorite, returns to perform Florence Price’s sweeping, melodic Violin Concerto No. 2.

The second half of the program unites Carlos Simon’s Fate Now Conquers with its inspiration.  “Using the beautifully fluid harmonic structure of the second movement of Beethoven’s 7th Symphony,” Simon explained, “I have composed musical gestures that are representative of the unpredictable ways of fate. Jolting stabs, coupled with an agitated groove with every persona. Frenzied arpeggios in the strings that morph into an ambiguous cloud of free-flowing running passages depicts the uncertainty of life that hoovers over us.” 

To contextualize Simon’s piece, is Beethoven’s ebullient, optimistic Symphony No. 7, showing not only his, but the works of Coleman and Price, sit comfortably at home alongside one of the most famous and popular symphonies in the history of classical music. 

Why We Love This Concert

  • Carlos Simon’s Fate Now Conquers was inspired by The second movement of Symphony No. 7. It is being played just after that movement so you can hear the juxtaposition of the pieces.
  • We are celebrating female composers in the first half of this concert!
  • Richard Wagner (Austrian opera composer who wrote operas such as the “Ring Cycle” and Tristan and Isolde) described Beethoven’s 7th symphony as the “apotheosis of dance” and to prove his point he performed an interpretive dance to the second movement accompanied by Franz Liszt in his home


Valerie Coleman, Umoja, Anthem of Unity

Florence Price, Violin Concerto No. 2


Carlos Simon, Fate Now Conquers 
Beethoven, Symphony No. 7, Op. 92, A Major
I. Poco sostenuto – Vivace
II. Allegretto
III. Presto
IV. Allegro con brio

Guest Artists

Melissa White


Programs, artists, dates, prices, and availability subject to change.

Support National Philharmonic

National Philharmonic relies on the generosity of its donors to continue bringing you the music. Your contribution is critical to our continued success.

Give Now